Life After Procurement

Many of us are not in the career path that we originally intended back in the glory days of College Undergrad when we thought we could do anything once we graduated. So, many of us are in our Second or possibly even Third career paths and while it is paying the bills now, it is not what is wanted. I have spoken to many people that decided to up and quit one day and pursue their passions, while I wholeheartedly agree with this if you have the means to do so, but many of us have families that depend on a steady income and pursuing our passion won’t pay the bills that come each month. So what do you do if you are not in your desired career path, but still want to pursue something else? You’ll have to see what opportunities your current position affords in terms of lateral or promotions and PIVOT…

In my field of purchasing, I deal with a lot of Chefs and Sales People. While I could not quit purchasing today and be a chef tomorrow, I could probably do pretty well as a salesman in the hospitality division of a company. This is something that I have seen a good number of procurement professionals do since we all know what we do and don’t want to hear from the Sales Reps that we dealt with, so it almost gives you an inside track of how to be successful and build relationships with clients.

This seems to be the most successful transition from procurement or sourcing to another field. Many of us have been in meetings with sales reps and thought to ourselves “why are you saying that”, “did you not do your research on our company”, “do you know our locations”… As I mentioned above, it is almost having an inside track to the sale, because I know what I want and need to hear for me to make a decision and give my company’s business to someone, so if I was a sales rep, I would have an idea of the things to say before even walking in the door.  I have dealt with these kinds of reps and they are always more represented and thought of then someone who has never been on the other side of the table!

Do you see yourself in your position until you retire, or could you pivot into something else? If so, what would your current position lend itself most to for you to be the most successful? When was the last time you thought about a change or had the opportunity, did you take the chance?

Leave a Reply

